25 June 2017

Book Trust’s prizes

Book Trust’s prizes

From the search to find the best women’s fiction to the focus on funny children’s books, our prizes and awards celebrate the best writing from the UK and beyond.

The prizes we run cover a wide range of genres and themes for both children and adults, ranging from a single short story to a whole lifetime’s achievement in literature.
Book Trust prizes promote books to a wide audience, bringing new books to attention and providing access points for readers to engage with different types of books. Our prizes support writers and illustrators, rewarding them for their endeavours, and celebrate books and writers as an integral part of the UK’s arts and culture landscape.


Roald Dahl Funny Prize

The prize aims to promote laughter and humour as a feel-good factor when reading, to draw attention to funny books as readable and enjoyable books and to reward authors and illustrators who write and illustrate books using humour. The prize is supported by libraries, teachers and parents through a range of activities and promotes a vibrant area of publishing often overlooked by other awards.

Blue Peter Book Awards

Blue Peter Book Awards have been recognising and celebrating the best authors, the most creative illustrators and the greatest reads for children since 2000.

Children’s Laureate

The role of Children’s Laureate is awarded once every two years to an eminent writer or illustrator of children’s books to celebrate outstanding achievement in their field. Writer and illustrator Chris Riddell was appointed Children’s Laureate 2015-2017 in June.


The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction was set up to celebrate excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women throughout the world. Known from 1996 to 2012 as the Orange Prize for Fiction, it is the UK’s most prestigious annual book award for fiction written by a woman and also provides a range of educational, literacy or research initiatives to support reading and writing.

Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award

The award honours the finest writers of short stories in the UK and Ireland. Worth £30,000 to the winning author, it is open to anyone with a previous record of publication in creative writing in the UK or Ireland.

BBC National Short Story Award

The award celebrates the power of the short story - a literary form that is proving ever more versatile in the 21st century. The ambition of both the award and Book Trust’s short story content is to expand opportunities for British writers, readers and publishers of the short story.

BBC Young Writers’ Award

The BBC Young Writers’ Award launched in 2014 as part of the 10th anniversary celebrations of the BBC National Short Story Award with Book Trust. The aim of the Award is to inspire and encourage the next generation of writers to follow in the footsteps of those championed by the adult Award. The ambition of the BBC and Book Trust is to enable young people to write to a high standard, experiment with form, be daring and make their mark.

David Cohen Prize for Literature

Established in 1993, the David Cohen Prize for Literature is one of the UK’s most distinguished literary prizes. It recognises writers who use the English language and are citizens of the United Kingdom or the Republic of Ireland, encompassing dramatists, as well as novelists, poets and essayists. Former winners include V S Naipaul, Harold Pinter, William Trevor, Doris Lessing, Seamus Heaney, Julian Barnes and most recently Tony Harrison.

Independent Foreign Fiction Prize

The prize honours the best work of fiction by a living author, which has been translated into English from any other language and published in the United Kingdom. Uniquely, the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize gives the winning author and translator equal status: each receives £5,000.

Kim Scott Walwyn Prize

The Kim Scott Walwyn Prize, which honours the life and career of Kim Scott Walwyn and recognises the achievements of women in publishing, was founded in 2003 and has been awarded to outstanding women publishers.

This project is run by Book Trust (United Kingdom)